When it comes to laws, the implementing rules and regulations may vary slightly per state, and it is always best to know as much as you can the provisions of the place you reside. Texas, for example, is one whose rules are slightly different from other states. Today, let’s talk about DWI, the basics about the law, its corresponding penalties and what you can do when flagged down by police for DWI. However, the best way to go when you already have a DWI arrest is to get in touch with an expert attorney such as Atty. Jim Butler. He is one of the best and most popular DWI attorneys in Houston, so you’re sure you are in good hands.
When are You Considered Intoxicated?
There are three bases for intoxication in Texas. First is when your mental capacity is not functioning normally due to alcohol or other controlled substances. The second one is not able to use your physical body generally due to the effect of alcohol or other controlled substances. And lastly, you are considered intoxicated if the alcohol concentration in your body is 0.08 or higher. Under the state law, alcohol concentration means the number of grams of alcohol per 67 millilitres of urine, 100 millilitres of blood or 210 litres of breath.
What is the Difference Between DWI and DUI?
Driving Under Influence (DUI) in Texas is only for minors, that is to say, anyone under the age of 21 who is operating a motor vehicle in public while having alcohol in his body. There is no set limit for alcohol concentration, as long as your alcohol intake is detectable, then it is considered. On the other hand, Driving with Influence (DWI) is for adults. It involves the introduction of any controlled substances such as drugs in the body or alcohol. These two terms are defined differently in other states.
What Should I Do When Stopped by Police?
In case you are flagged down by police for DWI, it means they have noticed something unusual about the way you drive. Some primary reasons are swerving, weaving, turning with a wide radius, braking erratically, stopping inappropriately, headlights off, accelerating or decelerating too fast and many other more. Police officers were trained to be very observant when searching for drunk drivers on the highways. When they notice any of these signs, the initial reaction is that the driver is drunk. When police stop you, you are not required to answer questions especially ones which are self-incriminating. It is wise to respond politely and request to speak to your lawyer first before answering any questions. Atty. Jim Butler can help you out. He is an expert in the field and has helped countless other clients charged for DWI.
What are the Consequences When Arrested for DWI?
If you a DWI conviction, your license may be under suspension for 90 days up to 2 years. You also have to note that the DWI arrest will stay on your record forever. There is no way to delete it so better be wise not to get arrested or when arrested, to hire a reasonable attorney to defend you.